start where you are

“In the darkest times hope is something you give yourself, that is the meaning of inner strength!” – Uncle Iroh

In the spirit of making new beginnings, I decided to create an Instagram solely for this blog so please go follow me look out for some new posts, projects & ideas! Chloé’s Corouches

I am currently sitting on my bed binge watching House of Cards on Netflix and I started to think.. Hmm.. Yes it’s obvious that the new year is approaching and I’ve been seeing so many people talking about “In the new year don’t text me if you didn’t text me Merry Christmas” or “New year new me”… what about now?

I am a firm believer in instant blocking and deleting the negativity from now, no matter what the date is. I can not stress how important it is to censor what, who you let into your personal space, for what reasons, why and when.  Clean up your life because it’s necessary not just because you want to stunt for the new year.  As I wrote in a letter to one of my pen pals, I have never had a new years resolution before, for so many reasons.

Firstly, I feel as though it limits you and create an unnecessary pressure for you to succeed. While pressure may be beneficial and necessary, in this case I feel as though many people create these resolutions out of guilt and in most cases they want to prove a point.

I believe that they are a fad, something which many people do for the first two weeks in January and they forget about it as fast as people stop saying “Happy New Year”. Don’t get me wrong, I honestly don’t have an issue with them, I just want to encourage people to not wait until it’s December 31st or January 1st to realize that they need to make a change.  Do it as soon as you realize there needs to be change.

This however, isn’t as easy as it may seem and even though it makes me seem naive, the first step to change is realizing there needs to be one. When you’ve completed that, you are well on your way to a better more fruitful life.

Start where you are and you will end up where you need to be a lot faster, than wait and risk the road to your goal getting longer and more winding. Why wait until there’s traffic and you have to take a detour when you could have planned ahead and taken the highway earlier?

I hope that you read my previous post where I shared a self-exploration journal titled ” Start Where You Are”, if not please take a look.

This book has been particularly helpful for me through my self-love journey and I think anyone wanting to start anew especially with a new cycle restarting should take a look at this book and others, which I will share as I get them.

WhatsApp-Image-20160613.jpg

Here is a link to purchase this book if you are interested.

“When we hit our lowest point, we are open to the greatest change.” – Avatar Aang to Avatar Korra

Have a wonderful journey in 2017 and continue to flourish!

6 Comments Add yours

  1. You’re so welcome! I’m happy you got something from this post!

  2. So true. When I don’t start where I’m at, I have unreasonable expectations. Thanks for the reminder.

  3. thank you so much 🙂 i appreciate that! i’m flattered!

  4. your posts are always so easy to read and its exciting and refreshing at the same time

  5. thank you so much!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

